UEFA Champions League draw: Messi to face Ronaldo, Man Utd meet PSG

UEFA Champions League

UEFA Champions League draw: Messi to face Ronaldo, Man Utd meet PSG

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will face off in the UEFA Champions League group stage for the first time as Juventus and Barcelona were drawn together in Group G.

Holders Bayern Munich will face Atletico Madrid, while Manchester United were drawn in the same group as Paris Saint-Germain and RB Leipzig, who met in last season’s semifinals.

Liverpool were placed in a group which promises goals alongside Ajax and Atalanta as well as newboys FC Midtjylland, while Real Madrid and Inter Milan were also paired together in Group B.

The draw also means Sergino Dest, who on Thursday was announced as a Barca player, will go head-to-head with UNSMT international teammate Weston McKennie, who joined Juve this summer.

Elsewhere, Manchester City were drawn in the same group as Porto. Chelsea will face Europa League holders Sevilla.

The group games will kick off Oct. 20 and 21 with the sixth games on Dec. 8 and 9 and the final in Istanbul’s Ataturk Stadium on May 29.

Read Also: BBNaija Season 5 production cost N3.5bn – MultiChoice

Prior to the start of the draw, former Chelsea striker Didier Drogba won the UEFA President’s Award, while Bayern’s Manuel Neuer was named men’s Goalkeeper of the Year and Sarah Bouhaddi of Lyon claimed the women’s honour.

Lyon’s Wendie Renard was named women’s Defender of the Year with teammate Dzsenifer Marozsan the best midfielder, while Bayern’s Joshua Kimmich was the No. 1 men’s defender and Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne named best midfielder.

Bayern’s Robert Lewandowski won the best men’s forward award, while new Chelsea signing Pernille Harder, who became the most-expensive footballer in the women’s game when she joined from Wolfsburg this summer, was named the best women’s forward — with both players winning the overall best player awards.

Lyon made it a clean sweep as Jean-Luc Vasseur was named best manager, while on the men’s side the award went to Bayern’s Hansi Flick.

Group A: Bayern Munich, Atletico Madrid, FC Salzburg, Lokomotiv Moscow

Group B: Real Madrid, Shakhtar Donetsk, Inter Milan, Borussia Monchengladbach

Group C: FC Porto, Manchester City, Olympiakos, Marseille

Group D: Liverpool, Ajax, Atalanta, FC Midtjylland

Group E: Sevilla FC, Chelsea, Krasnodar, Rennes

Group F: Zenit St Petersburg, Borussia Dortmund, Lazio, Club Brugge

Group G: Juventus, Barcelona, Dynamo Kiev, Ferencvaros

Group H: PSG, Manchester United, RB Leipzig, Istanbul Basaksehir.









0 0 vote
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
%d bloggers like this: